New District Lines for City Council and the County Board of Supervisors

As you know, the city recently completed an extremely contentious process of redrawing the boundaries of its Council districts.  Throughout the city, dramatic changes were required because of changes in neighborhoods’ population.  We are happy to report that, after an intense fight, Councilmember Krekorian was able to ensure that 85 percent of the Second District’s residents stayed in our newly-drawn district.  (You can see the new district map here.)

In addition, the neighborhoods of the Greater Toluca Lake area have joined the district.  Councilmember Krekorian and his staff are honored to welcome new constituents to this newly designed district.  In the next year, we hope to meet as many of you as possible, and to learn about your present concerns and your hopes for the future.  Please feel free to contact our district office at (818) 755-7676, or write to Councilmember Krekorian directly at [email protected].

Unfortunately, the district lost some parts of Studio City,  particularly those south of Ventura Blvd. and west of Colfax Ave.  These areas are now in Council District 4, represented by Councilmember Nithya Raman, who can be reached at her District Office at (818) 728-9924.  

It is very important to note, notwithstanding some overheated social media rhetoric, that this redistricting does not in any way “divide Studio City.”  To the contrary, Studio City remains united and its boundaries have not changed.  Councilmember Krekorian will continue to represent the community and will continue to advocate for its concerns on issues such as public safety, homelessness, housing, economic development, traffic, transportation and aircraft noise.  Now, however, Studio City will have two councilmembers who will be representing it on these issues instead of one.  Representation of the community has increased, not decreased. 

The districts of the Board of Supervisors of Los Angeles County have also gone through substantial changes because of redistricting.  Previously, Council District 2 was contained entirely within the Board of Supervisors’ Third District, represented by County Supervisor Sheila Kuehl.  Following the County’s redistricting, about half of the district will remain represented by Supervisor Kuehl, and half will now fall within the Fifth Supervisorial District, represented by County Supervisor Kathryn Barger. (You can see the new County district maps here.)


Explore the newly designed Los Angeles City Council Districts.


Explore the newly designed Los Angeles County Supervisor Districts.